Hello world!


Greetings to one and all! I’ve been talking about doing this for quite awhile, but now I’ve finally gone and done it. I’m blogging!

My mission is to be a voice of reason, a proponent of sanity, and a purveyor of thoughtful responses to current events. Like the Tea Party movement, I want to take my country back. Unlike the Tea Party Movement, I believe that it was taken away from me long ago. Or rather, I and other moderates let people like the Tea Party have my country out of neglect. I feel pretty strongly that one of the main problems with this country is that the moderate factions of both main parties have been too silent and that many of our problems with feeling like our country has been taken away stem from being insufficiently vocal against the crazies out there.

I have strong sympathy for Jon Stewart’s call to Restore Sanity and so I will always try to be calm and reasonable and refrain from ranting unnecessarily.  Except about warrantless wiretapping; I don’t think I can keep a promise not to rant on that subject. Just wanted to set your expectations.

Keep an eye out for future posts. My plan is to comment on letters to the editor and Op/Ed pieces published in the Austin American-Statesman. I think that kind of structure will keep me coming back fairly regularly and if I feel moved to do more, that’s fine too.

Thanks for your time.

Leave a Reply

